Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

One month of the Rippetoe-Ferris workout

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on May 13, 2011

Last month, after finishing “4-Hour Body”, I crafted the “Rippetoe-Ferris” workout. So far, it has been extremely productive, accelerating my gains far beyond my expectations.

To recap, I took the basic plan from the “Effortless Superhuman” section of Timothy Ferris’ “4-Hour Body”. I then substituted bench press with overhead press and added back squats, which constitute the three primary lifts from Mark Rippetoe’s “Starting Strength”.

For whatever reason, my overhead press got stuck at 135 lbs, but I finally completed that weight on my last workout and will be starting 145 lbs on my next.

One other thing I should mention. I have been drinking between 1/3 and 1/2 gallon of milk a day in addition to my regular meals. I think my gains are partially attributable to that change, since I really have a hard time putting on weight. I’ve gained about 4 kg (8.8 lbs) since I began.

I’ll keep you updated with how things progress.

Workout period: April 6th to May 11th

Max Working Weight

Back Squats: 255 lbs -> 315 lbs

Overhead Press: 115 lbs -> 135 lbs

Deadlift: 315 lbs -> 365 lbs

Progress

Back Squats:

Overhead Press:

Deadlift:

Leave a Reply

