Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

A few Web 2.0 sites that caught my attention

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on September 13, 2006

I spent a good part of the day today reviewing Web 2.0 sites that were featured on SEOmox Web 2.0 Awards [web2.0awards.org]. The following lists some of the sites that I thought were interesting and that I would probably use.

  • Basecamp – Provides a project management “extranet” that pulls together a number of important tools into a single focal point. Includes calendaring, people, tasks, milestones, document management and discussions.
  • PBwiki – I think the site’s tagline says it all, “Make a free wiki as easily as a peanut butter sandwich”. They live up to it to. It was incredibly easy to setup my wiki. They have me my own hostname when I registered and I could choose to make the wiki public or private. The editor used standard wiki markup, but also provided a toolbar to create the markup. Good for me since I always forget.
  • CSS Beauty – A nice example of how concepts of weblogging and syndication can be brought together in an elegant and targeted content website.
  • Pandora Internet Radio – Create custom, dynamically generated radio stations to help you discover new music. Based on the Music Genome Project.
  • SWiK – OSS project database

There are many more sites out there… I will be looking for ones that have anything interesting.

Leave a Reply

