Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Some simple cases to support the switch to Linux

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on March 18, 2006

I’m sorry to do this to you guys, but I really liked this post [bootlog][in English]. Yes, the site is in Spanish.

His point is so simple and well taken. Some of the most annoying, time consuming and downright frustrating things about Windows simply do not exist in Linux. Of course, it would be a fairly simple task to come up with a similar set of case studies “demonstrating” that Windows is the superior choice over Linux.

I myself am not an advocate of either. I think they each have advantages in certain contexts. I’ve used both extensively and, as a Software Developer, I preferred Linux, though I always ran both a Windows and Linux box side-by-side. However, when I made the jump over to Program Manager (aka The Dark Side), I also migrated over to using Windows almost exclusively. For a while I kept my Linux box, but found fewer and fewer times when I would actually use it. Eventually, for simplicity’s sake, I made the switch completely to Windows. Simply put, I think the business tools in Windows are still superior to those that are offered in Linux, though the Linux tools continue to improve.

Leave a Reply

