Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Using LinkedIn instead of a resume

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on March 2, 2006

Now that we have entered March, I am starting to think more seriously about looking for a job. I’ve been in Mexico since January and will be heading back to The States in April. It would certainly be nice to have a job by May.

I’m attempting to use the LinkedIn service to see if it is really worth anything. In theory, LinkedIn is a way to extend your real social network into a virtual social network. By doing so, you should be able to get a better visual indication of what and who is within your realm of influence and, ultimately, capitalize better on your network. In practice, it may be much harder than that. Nevertheless, I’m going to give it a shot.

To start with, I have updated my LinkedIn profile and hope to use it as a replacement for my resume [My LinkedIn Profile].

The endorsement feature is really nice. It should at least have a psychological effect on hiring managers who read the profile. However, I’m not sure how effective some of the other features offered will be. Many of the features, such as the search, seem a bit unwieldy and don’t seem to give very meaningful results without a bit too much tinkering. So, given the potential, I will need to work with the service for a bit longer before I pass final judgment.

Leave a Reply

