Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

What does EZLN23 mean?

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on December 9, 2005

I am often asked why I chose the name “ezln23”. It is a rather obscure sequence of characters. So that I don’t have to answer this question ever again, here it is for the whole world to see…

What does EZLN23 mean?

Back in around 1997, I spent a lot of time an IRC channels. I found that it was a pain in the butt to find a nickname/alias that wasn’t already in use. At around the same time, I was starting to use the Web and found that a similar problem cropped up every time I needed to sign up for some account or another. So, I decided to come up with an alias that I could almost guarantee would be unique.

I wanted the name to…

  1. contain elements that had some personal significance
  2. make people think twice about the meaning
  3. be virtually guaranteed to be unique
  4. contain between five and eight characters

EZLN

The alias is in two parts. The first part has a very direct association. It is the acronym for a rebel group in Chiapas, Mexico called the Ejercito Zapatista de Liberacion Nacional [Wikipedia]. Also called simply, The Zapatistas. Am I a Zapatista? No. I think their organization is interesting, but I neither claim to support them nor do I really know a whole lot about them. But, at the time, I was more interested in their cause and thought that the initials would help me meet my criteria for a name.

23

23 is my lucky number. It so happens that in 1997, when I created the alias, I turned 23. My birthday is January 23rd. Furthermore, a number of other synchronistic events occurred in 1997 that centered around the number 23. 23 is prime, 2 is prime, 3 is prime, 2 + 3 = 5 which is prime. Isn’t that reason enough? Not to mention that adding a number to an alias goes a long way toward assuring that your alias will not be used by anyone else.

So, that’s it. Not so far out, but it has been very convenient for me ever since.

Leave a Reply

