Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Ubuntu is amazing

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on December 7, 2005

I have been hearing a lot about Ubuntu Linux [site] on the feeds and decided it was time to take a look. Ever since I made the switch to Linux from FreeBSD, I have been a Debian user. However, for the past year or so, I have been working as a Program Manager and have primarily been using Windows XP. So, I was excited to hear that Ubuntu 1) is based on Debian and 2) has the goal of a making Linux so that it just works. I can’t tell you how much time I have spent just trying to get simple things to work in previous Linux distros.

Things have come a long way. The hardest part of starting to use Ubuntu was waiting for the ISO to finish downloading (and it downloaded fast…) and burning the CD. After the burning finished I just popped the CD into in my drive and booted straight. I didn’t have to partition any hard drives, setup XWindows or anything. As a matter of fact, I am writing this post on Blogger on Firefox in Ubuntu. I did all of it in less than 30 minutes. Sweet!

Ubuntu is the Linux distro to use if you don’t want to waste your time on trivial administrative tasks.

Leave a Reply

