Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Long term car storage

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on November 23, 2005

While in Mexico, I will need to leave my car in Seattle. I found some tips for things to do when storing a car for long periods [Buy Classic Cars].

Key points:

  • Leave the tank full
  • Use an additive to keep the gasoline from turning into “varnish”
  • Use anti-freeze in the radiator
  • Change engine oil
  • Make sure brake fluid is full
  • Wash and wax car; clean the inside
  • Park with hand brake off; use a chock
  • Drive the car once a month, if possible

I bought a car cover as well since I will be storing my vehicle outdoors.

Leave a Reply

