Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Vonage might have Skype beat for my needs

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on November 13, 2005

To stay connected in Mexico, I would like to have free calling in the U.S. and a U.S. based phone number that people can call to reach me in Mexico. Furthermore, I will the ability to have voicemail and to use a real cordless phone handset instead of being tethered to my computer. Vonage might be the best option.

I don’t expect I will be using that many minutes and Vonage has a plan that is only $14.99 [Vonage]. The basic plan includes 500 minutes a month for calls anywhere in the U.S., voicemail, 3-way calling, call waiting, call forwarding and caller Id with name. They are even providing the phone adapter for free. I guess all I need to provide is a phone.

One of the catches that makes this service interesting is that they are apparently limited to U.S. based customers. According to the website, you must have a U.S. address and a U.S. credit card. I have both, of course, but I will be using the service exclusively within Mexico.

Seems like a slam dunk to me. However, I expect to see this space heat up as companies like Skype start to offer similar service. I image there has got to be one or more other services competing in this space. I will have to look to see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

