Extra Fox – A blog by Christopher Taylor

Unlimited calling in Mexico plus phone number consolidation

Posted in Uncategorized by extrafox on November 13, 2005

It looks like the Lingo service is going to get my money. They have a plan that includes unlimited minutes in the U.S., Canada and Mexico. Plus, I can setup simultaneous ring on up to 5 phone numbers, all for only $29.95 per month.

With this solution I can have one number (or more) in the U.S. that I give to everyone. Ideally, I could transfer my existing cell number (need to check on that one). Then I will setup a local cell number in Zipolite and use simultaneous ring to receive calls on my cell. With this solution, I would be able to make and receive unlimited calls from home over VoIP and receive calls both to my cell and to my home VoIP phone. Calls made to the U.S. from my cell would be charged the long distance calling rates for the local cell service in Mexico, but calls received would only be charged the airtime for the local cell service.

I think this is the way to go. I did a cursory survey of the other VoIP providers and the only one advertising the simultaneous ring feature is Lingo. I will have to call via:talk to see what they can do for me…

Leave a Reply

